2020 Concacaf Champions League draw

Planning a Football Trip to the 2020 Concacaf Champions League.  This post had details of the draw.

The 2020 CONCACAF Champions League will be the 12th edition of the CONCACAF Champions League and overall the 55th edition of the premier football club competition organized by CONCACAF, the regional governing body of North America, Central America, and the Caribbean.

Starting from this season, only 10 of the 16 teams directly qualify for the tournament, with the other six berths allocated through the CONCACAF League, where previously only the winners would have qualified.

2020 Concacaf Champions League Round of 16 matchups

Leg 1: Feb. 18-20; Leg 2: Feb. 25-27. First team listed hosts Leg 2.

  1. Atlanta United vs. Motagua (HON)
  2. Club América (MEX) vs. Comunicaciones (GUA)
  3. Cruz Azul (MEX) vs. Portmore United (JAM)
  4. LAFC (USA) vs. Club León (MEX)
  5. Tigres UANL (MEX) vs. Alianza (SLV)
  6. NYCFC vs. San Carlos (CRC)
  7. Seattle Sounders vs. Olimpia (HON)
  8. Montreal Impact vs. Saprissa (CRC)


Leg 1: March 10-12; Leg 2: March 17-19. Winner of odd-numbered Round of 16 game hosts Leg 2.

  • Winner 1 vs. Winner 2
  • Winner 3 vs. Winner 4
  • Winner 5 vs. Winner 6
  • Winner 7 vs. Winner 8


Leg 1: Apr. 7-9; Leg 2: Apr. 14-16. Hosting determined by performance in prior rounds.

  • Winner 1/2 vs. Winner 3/4
  • Winner 5/6 vs. Winner 7/8


Leg 1: April 28-30; Leg 2: May 5-7. Hosting determined by performance in prior rounds.

  • Winner SF1 vs. Winner SF2

Each round of the tournament will see a home-and-away series played between the two teams. The team with the most aggregate goals over the course of the two legs will advance to the next round (or win the tournament, in the case of the final). If aggregate scores are even in the round of 16, away goals will serve as the tiebreaker, otherwise the series will be decided on penalty kicks (no extratime). If aggregate scores are even in the final, away goals will not count — instead, two 15-minute periods of extratime will be played, followed by penalty kicks if the aggregate score is still tied.